2009-03-16 � Names and Games Fairy Tales
�Hey,� My sister says as I show her the wrestling t-shirt I bought this morning, �Cody�s name isn�t on here!�

�Duh,� I say, braiding her hair from the seat behind her, which she is sharing with Brandon. �Do you honestly think I would buy a shirt with his name on it? Not only would it hurt every time I see it, but how pathetic would it be if I had my ex-whatever�s name on my back? Very pathetic, that�s how.�

�Yeah, but how come it�s not on here anyway? I mean, he was on the team��

�And then he had to quit because he got crap grades in English. If you quit the team, you quit the shirt.�

I start another small braid, and when I finish, Brandon says �Hey, Soph! You should braid your hair all like that so you could be all gangster!�

�I will not let my sister braid her hair like that, because then she�ll look like a druggie. Besides, YOU�RE �gangster� she�s Emo. Get it right!�

He grabs her fingernails and tries to chip off her black nail polish. �Damn, this is good polish.� He says, when it doesn�t even scar.

We spend the rest of the bus ride discussing Goth clothing stores and wrestling.
----------------------------------

During studyhall, Shelby went off to see if she could set up an appointment for driving with the drivers ed teacher, who is about seventy some years old and we have a running joke going on that Shelby has a crush on him, and so she says to me �Hey, Anna, I�m going to go drive Bob-oh around on a date. See you later!� Lol, very.

Then Caleb said from the back of the class, �Hey, Anna, come here.�

So I did, and said �Yeah?�

�Where�s she going?�

�Um, to drive or something, with Bob O.�

�She�s not going to be able too, cause she�s only a freshman, sophomores go first.�

�Whatever, I don�t know how the system works. I�m not driving or anything yet.�

�Why? How old ARE you?� he asks, leaning forward.

�Fourteen.� I say, rolling my eyes.

�Really? You look older than that. When�s you birthday?�

I tell him. �Why?�

�I don�t know, just wondering.� He says, and smiles.

Then Shelby comes back, and we start talking about Piano. Caleb goes back to his computer for a minuet.

Shelby says that she�s Looking for a different piano teacher, because the prices her�s charges are outrageous. I tell her how much my piano teacher charges for the four of us, and then she�s like �That�s how much my teacher charges for TWO of us!�

Then Caleb turns around and says �You all play piano?� And he looks right at me, ignoring Shelby. �All four of you?�

�Yeah, me, Sophie, my brother, and My mom.�

He must have noticed the sarcasm in my voice as I said �mom�, because he mimics me �My mom.�

�Yeah. My mom.�

�Your parents are weird.� He says, and he should know, because last year, Dad and my brother went canoeing on the river, and got lost and Caleb�s family ended up saving them from starving to death in the woods.

�Thanks!� I say, pretending to be insulted, but not really insulted at all. Trust me, I gave up standing up for the �rents a long time ago.

�But you play piano?�

�Yeah, so does Shelby.� I say.

�But we have different teachers.� Shelby adds.

�Hey, look!� Caleb says, pulling up his shirt to show off his belt, which is painted with Piano keys. In the style that he and his brothers tend to embrace, his pants are sagging, and his boxers are sticking out about a mile over his waistband.

Shelby and I giggle. �Thank, Caleb. I really wanted to see that.� I say sarcastically.

�What?� he asks, and looks down. �Oh, yeah, sorry.�

Then Joe, who�s been listening to the entire conversation without saying anything, says suddenly �Hey, guess what? My Great-grandma is going to be a great-great grandma soon.�

�Really? That�s cool!� then we talk about great-grandmas for a while, including mine, who�s got cancer, but instead of Chemo, she decided just to die, and her healing idea is to rub kerosene on her body everyday. And then she gets all ticked off whenever the doctors tell her that she�s poisoning herself. Like, NO WAY!

Anyways, the four of us talk the rest of the hour, and then I got to go home, so that was pretty cool I guess.
----------------------------------

During Chorus, Josh, who graduated last year and has been singing for God-knows-how-long, came in, and we all sang the chorus songs for him. He switched parts like crazy, whenever there was an empty seat. First he sat with the sopranos, then the altos, then the tenors, then the Bass. Then the Altos again.

When we did the Gloria song, and we got to the part where the entire chorus drops off, and the Altos carry the entire choir acapela, quietly and energetically and what not, and Josh started cheering and clapping. When the song was done, Mrs. Thunder ran over and told us what great singers we were all over again. Cody made elaborate snorting noises. Jerk.

I was watching him from behind Beth today, his head fit right at the edge of her nose. Then I dug my nails into my hands, and told myself to stop. See, I�m thinking if maybe this week, I�ll tell myself I don�t like him, at all, I won�t. I won�t say anything about him here. I won�t write any music at all, unless it has nothing to do with him at all. Wish me luck. I hope it works. But for now, I jus want to write down some Joni Mitchell lyrics�

And I�ll put part of the song in too.
----------------------------------

Moons and junes and ferris wheels
The dizzy dancing way you feel
As evry fairy tale comes real
Ive looked at love that way

But now its just another show
You leave em laughing when you go
And if you care, dont let them know
Dont give yourself away

Ive looked at love from both sides now
From give and take, and still somehow
Its loves illusions I recall
I really dont know love at all

Tears and fears and feeling proud
To say I love you right out loud
Dreams and schemes and circus crowds
Ive looked at life that way

But now old friends are acting strange
They shake their heads, they say Ive changed
Well somethings lost, but somethings gained
In living evry day

Ive looked at life from both sides now
From win and lose and still somehow
Its lifes illusions I recall
I really dont know life at all
Ive looked at life from both sides now
From up and down, and still somehow
Its lifes illusions I recall
I really dont know life at all
----------------------------------


MusicPlaylist
Music Playlist at MixPod.com

Quote of the day: �Why the devil came you between us? I was wounded under your arm.� ~Mercutio. From The Tragdey Of Romeo An

Song I�m Listening To: Both Sides Now~ Joni Mitchell

Mood I�m In: Determined.


beforeafter