2009-02-06 � Shell-shocked
As we leave first hour, Principal Principal (aka, �our fearless leader�) comes over the loud speaker.

�An ambulance is here. A student needs emergency attention administered. Please move quickly through the hallways: we need them empty as soon as possible. Get to your next class. Spanish One will report to the cafeteria.�

Wondering whether Senora will be feeding us today, and also why the ambulance is here, we trudge out of our class.

The hallways are buzzing. People are trying to find out what is going on.

At the end of the junior hallway, a boy is saying, �All I know is suddenly Senora was screaming �call 911! Call 911!��

We get to the freshman hallway, and Senora�s classroom door is closed, Senora standing there in front of it, her eyes wild, her mouth gasping like a fish.

�What happened Senora?� A loud-mouthed clot yells smugly, her gum nearly escaping her mouth.

�Go away Kelsey!� Senora growls.

Kelsey pays her no mind and shoves past her, attempting to see through the window.

Senora pushes her away, and, as I am pushed along with the tide, I hear Kelsey squawk in protest.

I walk quickly to the cafeteria, and hear Bubba say �Let�s go as slowly as we can!�

That Son of a B****.

The EMTs push past us on the stairs.

In the cafeteria, we are re-directed to the library.

One word floats across the mass of mixed voices, a name. �Jane.*�

Oh my god. Not Jane.

Loud voices, they are a blur. Some are somber, some worried. Some people have no idea what is going on. Another voice shouts �Someone said that she got shot, but we would have heard the gun go off, wouldn�t we?�

�But what if she was stabbed?!� My brain cries.

After ten minuets of chaos, the library attendants not even trying to contain it, Senora bursts into the library.

She is red eyed.

She talks to the library attendants in a hushed voice. They shudder.

�Okay class. Prepare for your quiz.�

I am shaking so bad. I rattle the paper.

She tells us nothing. As she is telling us something academic that barley registers in my mind, the librarian comes in and they whisper again, then Senora races out of the room.

When she returns, she is whipping tears off her face.

What happened?!

We wait for an hour, drowning in our thoughts.

Our fearless leader speaks to us again.

�I have information regarding *Jane Smith.*. She is being taken to the hospital as we speak. She was answering questions and talking as she left. She should be fine. I will address you again next class hour. I do not want you to debate on the cause of this. That is a job for the doctors.�

We enter the hallways. They are dead silent. There are people moving around me, I can hear their footfalls, the rustle of their pantslegs. But few of them speak.

When we enter the freshman hallway, Kelsey and her mindless clouts are laughing and cheering. And I can tell you, it�s not because Jane was Okay. It was because something bad happened to Jane.

The dogs.

We move through the hallways. The quietness is frightening, like a funeral home.

Next class, Our Fearless Leader tells us that Jane is going to be okay. He refuses to tell us what happened.

By Fourth hour, we know. She had a seizure.

In band, Joe and Chris are laughing, cheering saying �She�s faking it!� and �It�s your fault Rachel!�

Kyle stands up and screams at them. �Shut up! Shut up, shut up, shut up! How can you say that?! I take that personally, you know!� Reportedly, he was nearing tears.

My version is scattered: I was not there, but this is what I�ve heard.

------------------------------------

Jane returned after lunch! I was so happy, I thought my mind must have tricked me, but after chorus, there she was again. She is walking, she is talking, she is Okay!

------------------------------------

On a different, less important note, I broke my vow of silence to Leah. I couldn�t handle the Jane stress, and I needed her to make me laugh.

------------------------------------

Quote of the Day: �Encircle me; I need to be, taken down� ~the Con, by Tegan & Sara.


*Jane Smith is a totally fake name.

beforeafter