2012-12-03 � Jesus Can Be Married-- It Just Might Make the World Better for Christian Women
I am going to preach. Be prepared.

I've been thinking A LOT these past few months. About politics. About feminism. About my faith.

And sometimes I find myself pushing away from religion. Hell, I'm writing a paper for my Womens Studies course on Christianity and Feminism, and how Evangalism is a threat to women's rights.

Shit's kinda intense there.

I'm part of a Evangelistic organization on my campus. It gets scary sometimes. They stress the "No sex before marriage" law, which... I've never equated sexuality-- weither heterosexual, homosexual, or other-- with sin. And I still don't. I've spent a lot of prayer trying to figure out what God wants from me.

There's even pressure on drinking. Which seems ridiculous to me. Lutheran Missouri Synod has absoutly no opposition to drinking, or even getting drunk from time to time. The abuse of alcochol is warned against, but not the consumption. Jesus uses wine many times-- I dont think it's an accurate judgment to state that He thinks it's bad.

I've been told to "adhere to gender-roles" as God laid out in the Bible. Which I am strongly opposed to. Beyond that, it's a common belief that the Bible was edited in a way to disadvantage women at an extream ammount.

But beyond all this, I'd like to offer my opinion on a *Gasp!* current-ish event.

I'm assuming you've heard about the big "Contriversy" about Jesus perhaps being married to Mary Magdaline.

Now, I dont think it's true, bc it's not in the Bible (though that could simply be because of patriarchy's influence on both the writing of scripture and the editing of it.) But we should take a step back and consider why everyone is freaking out.

The Bible tells us Mary was a prostitute. And that she became a Christian and was forgiven by Christ Jesus and gave up that lifestyle. As the Bible is opposed to fornification (Sleeping around), it is also against having sex with someone who's had other partners (Exculding cases of "rightful divorce" and death of prior partner/ spouse.)
However, it has another exception, in which it clarifies that it's okay if the person was not a christian before and has repented and come to God.

So therefore, had Jesus married Mary, He would not have been committing any sin.

But we're so opposed as Christians to believe He was married because we equate it with sinfullness, which we know Jesus is innocent of.

Which leads us to realize that our opposition must truely steam from a deep-set beilief that something about the marriage itself has sin. As the Bible has no opposition to marriage or marrital sex, we can't see any fault there. But what I think people are getting all reialed-up about is that Jesus married a slut . I mean, that's the problem, isnt it? That Jesus forgave a sinful woman and allowed her to be His equal in the institution of marriage?

In order for us to be so opposed to Jesus's marriage, we must feel that Mary was not fully forgiven, as Jesus promised us when He died on the cross.
Or, if we do believe that, then tbhe only other explination would lie in that we cannot accept marriage to women, because we consider them an inferior and sinful, seperate species.

It's profoundly disturbing. And I'd just like to point that out, so that you can all consider exactly what is so wrong about what we're being told.

beforeafter