2010-07-03 � Gullible Heart (Or, A Letter to Lucas)
I miss you. So much that it hurts.
And I want you. I want you here, with me, right now. I want to spend every single day with you.

And I�m scared shitless. Because my heart is catching up with itself. The pessimistic part of my heart. The part of it that is so scared of getting hurt that it refuses to take a chance. And it's trying to build walls around itself. I thought you should maybe know that in advance: that I�m really difficult. Sorry that that came a little late.

But the rest of my heart, the bigger part... that part of my heart really likes you. Maybe it even loves you. And so I think it's pretty damn capable of breaking those fucking walls. That is the good news.

And maybe the reason my hearts so scared is because it's got some major battle scars. From friends, from parents, from that first boy...
Or maybe it's just that it still believes everything it hears. It still trusts the people and things it shouldn't. Like the people who sit there and say "Babe? you ain't gonna fall for someone again. You had one shot and you blew it.� and �Hun, you really aren�t strong enough. You�re too weak for love, too weak for distance, to weak for him, to fucking weak all the way around.�

And my brain knows for a fact that they�re dead wrong. Because I�ve got one of the toughest hearts I know.

It�s just that my brain can�t tell that to my gullible heart.

beforeafter