2010-03-21 � Swing, family, and second chances.
There was big drama tonight at swing practice.

And although I only caught part of it, once everyone started screaming, I think that Beth was not without proper reason.

But it�s scary. I mean� Tuesday is the big day. And we�re all busy with petty, shitty, bitchy disagreements.

Not that the night went without it�s high points.

I absolutely think that last week is behind me. No more bad luck.

I won�t bore you with a run through of the whole night, just tell you that I really enjoyed myself, as much as possible, at least. And I took in a lot of insights, which, for now, I�ll hold close to my heart.

I think that it�s really important that we all just remember that we�re a team. I mean, from what I heard of that argument, it sounded like K had said something that rubbed Beth the wrong way, whether it was meant to be taken badly or not is none of my businesses.

And the reason I didn�t say anything is because I don�t want to disagree with people. That might sound weak, but it�s not. It�s because we have to work as a team, as a unit. Swing isn�t just about excelling individually. It�s about getting together with a group of seriously talented musicians and making something really great. As a team. Personally, no matter what everyone else in swing may think of me, the second we step on stage, my mindset says that I am surrounded by my friends. By people I can trust. Because if you can�t trust people, then you can�t function fully, perfectly. I mean, working all as individuals may be good. We are good. But we can be amazing. And if you had the choice between good and amazing, which would you pick? Amazing, right? And so that�s why we have to work as a family. As a team. We all want to go on, right? I mean, is there anyone who doesn�t want to? If you don�t, you don�t deserve to be part of this. You should have never tried out. You may have the most amazing voice in the world. But if you don�t want to work to be the beast, as a group? Then that�s really disappointing.

It�s like AM said. When you step onto that stage, you have to leave everything else at the door. And for god�s sake, fake it, if you have to. Just show some respect.

And if you can�t? if we can�t respect each other? If we can�t trust each other? Then I think we should all seriously reconsider participating Tuesday. Cause if you can�t trust some one, if you can�t work with them? Then why even bother participating? Personally, I want to go to state. I want to do the best we can do. Because I think every single one of us is really good. And I think we�ve worked so hard. I think we deserve this. I think we deserve to go on.
----------------------------------------------------------------------

I found a really neat recipe for Hermits�. Absolutely delicious. I�ll share next time I�m on.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote of the day: �If you will, grant us again with that lovely invitation.� ~AM

beforeafter