2009-05-01 � Purple Ring

Funny story for you, today, ladies and gents.

Today, during lunch, I went to buy a juice (vending machine location: creeper table) I asked Leah to come with me, because I wanted moral support. We were going to talk to Paul/ get a juice, but then we went to clear our trays, and Paul was right behind us. I really like the way he looks at Leah. (Which is random, yeah, I know.) So I walked over alone, since Leah and Paul ran off somewhere (but I don�t know if they went together or not).

I ran into Kyle Wrestler in the little space between the vending machine and the creeper table, as he was getting up get rid of his tray. He said �Anna!� and I said �No, stay here, I don�t want to be completely abandoned!� and he hugged me with his free arm and went to the trash container, anyway.

So I got my juice and headed back to my (nearly empty) lunch table, and flick the extra quarter at Shelby, who�s all alone. �Here�s that quarter I owe you.� I say. Then Oscar gets his creep on and sits down next to Shelby, and Kyle plops down next to me. Paul and the Orangutan-sheepdog join us, and I see Kyle glance at me and then pull his class ring out of his pocket. So I ask him if I can look at it, and he smiles and pulls it off his finger and hands it to me.

I also gain access of Paul and Orangutan-sheepdog�s rings. At the end of lunch, though I keep Kyle�s and hand back the others. Then, during Chorus, we all sit in the auditorium and watch the swing choir. We got to critique them, and everyone was grateful for my input, blah, blah, blah. But whenever I raised my hand, I saw Cody squinting at the ring on it.

After choir, we all went out, taking the long way out the stage doors and into the sunlight. I walked with Paul, laughing and talking about swing choir and Cody�s behind us and I tell Paul how it�s so cool that the ring matches my bracelet and shirt, and we�re talking about that and Cody says �Who�s ring is that?!� he demands it, really, but I blow him off.

And then I lead him into the junior hallway (hip swing, hip swing, hair flick, hum a few notes) and run into Kyle. �Hey, Anna,� he says, grabbing me and holding me.

�Hey, here, you�re probably missing your ring,� I say, slipping it off of my thumb and setting it in the palm of his hand. He laughs, grabs my hand and says:

�No, I want you to keep it for a while.�

�Aw, really? Thank you,� I smile at him. We�re stopped by Cody�s locker, and even though he only ever stops at his locker at the end and beginning of the day, he�s got his locker open now and is watching us. I see his hands moving pointlessly around in his locker as he pretends to be busy. �Hey, can I just hang on to it �till I see you tomorrow?�

Cody stops moving at all. Kyle smiles and says �Yeah, Just don�t lose it��

�I won�t, I�ll keep it on; how�s that? You can trust me, I�m a very trustwor� actually, I�m not really that trustworthy, am I?�

�No; you�re too naughty and unpredictable. But I think I can trust you on this one,� Kyle says, and we�re moving down the hallway. Cody is right behind us.

Kyle and I part at the foot of the stairs. Cody follows me up the stairs. (Hip swish, hip swish, hair flick, hip swish, little smile playing on my lips as I remember Cody�s face; he looked SO jealous.) And slips into his class without even acknowledging Jen.

Moh ha ha, I feel so powerful. Audrey thinks I should go out with Kyle, partly to make Cody jealous, but mainly because Kyle is an incredibly decent person.

Quote of the Day: �And You�ve got a smile that can light up this whole town I haven�t seen it in a while since she brought you down you say you�re fine I know you better than that hey what you doing with a girl like that?� ~Taylor Swift �You Belong With me.�

Songs I�m Listening to: �You Belong With Me� ~Taylor Swift. AND �I Don�t Believe You� ~P!nk.

Mood I�m In: Flirty, Fun, and free from what�s been troubling me.

beforeafter